India vs Pakistan 19th Match ICC T20 World Cup 2024

In week two of the 2024 T20 World Cup, fans are gearing up for an epic showdown between cricket giants India and Pakistan. The match is set to take place at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York on Sunday afternoon, promising an electrifying atmosphere.

This rivalry between India and Pakistan is one of the fiercest in sports, and with a temporary 34,000-seat stadium in East Meadow, the excitement is palpable. It’s being touted as the ‘Super Bowl on steroids’, and cricket enthusiasts are eagerly anticipating every moment.


Last week, Rahul Dravid announced his decision to step down as the head coach of the Indian T20 team after the tournament. Leading his team to victory here would be a dream farewell for the batting legend, aiming for India’s first T20 title since 2007.

However, there’s a bit of uncertainty surrounding Rohit Sharma’s participation due to an injury. While there’s no definite decision yet, Yashasvi Jaiswal might step in if Sharma is unable to play.

Virat Kohli, fresh from winning his second orange cap at the IPL, is likely to continue opening the innings for India, despite a disappointing start in their first match. Meanwhile, Rishabh Pant seems to have solidified his spot at number three after impressive performances in warm-up games and against Ireland.

For Pakistan, Babar Azam has been a consistent performer at the top of the batting order. But to pose a serious challenge to India, they’ll need significant contributions from Mohammad Rizwan, Usman Khan, and Fakhar Zaman, especially after their top-order struggled in the previous match against the US.

Considering the pitch conditions in Nassau County, which are expected to favor pacers, Pakistan will rely heavily on Afridi’s bowling prowess. The left-arm speedster has been impressive in powerplays, having taken the second-most wickets in T20s since 2019, just behind New Zealand’s Tim Southee.

India squad:
Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj

Pakistan squad:
Babar Azam (c), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Khan

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *